Interview with Gemheaven

May 17, 2009 at 8:24 pm 3 comments

  interview 

 gh

This weeks interview is with Jo from Gemheavenjewellery.com  in west Cornwall, UK.

  Jewellery Website/Blog Interview

1.  How long have you had a website/blog?

I’ve had my website open since 2006 ~ my hobby was becoming a business with requests for pieces from friends and family and so I took the leap of opening my website up.  My blog started in June 2007 ~ things were really taking off and it’s a great way of people to see what you have been doing, life and jewellery.

2. How did you get into jewellery making, as a business/hobby and how long have you been doing it?

I started in 2005 after a long illness ~ I needed something creative and sort of fell into jewellery design when a favourite necklace broke ~ needless to say I never did mend that necklace!!

IT became a business once I started selling ~ in the UK you have to declare yourself a business within three months of selling so it was something that happened quite quickly and it was very exciting to suddenly think of people all over the world wearing a piece of gemheaven.

3. Who are your favourite online jewellery designers?

OHhh I have so many favourites and many I can now say are friends of mine ~

Ginger ~ www.msbelle.etsy.com ~ beautifully elegant jewellery.

Freya ~ www.tigerburningbright.etsy.com ~ her wire wrapping and composition of gems is fabulous

Iza ~ Mgypsy ~ http://www.wireboutique.com ~ Iza also another wire wrapper but in a totally different context ~ organic beauties.

Anna Karin ~ www.smabla.etsy.com ~ she does things with wire, material and gemstones that just blows me away!

As you can see there are so many and yes I could go on!

 4. What is your favourite medium to work with?

Silver, gemstones and Artisan created lampwork.  I also like using local sea glass and now I am really enjoying bezel setting the glass to create beautiful pendants and rings.

5. Are you self taught or have you studied jewellery making professionally?

I am mainly self taught with a silver work basic course which I took at a jewellery school locally.
6. What has been your favourite creation?

Ohhh that’s a hard one ~ in wire I think my Snow Queens Bouquet it turned out perfectly from what I had in my head! In silver I think would be harder to choose but I am really pleased with my latest ring Summerblues

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=24986044

http://www.wireboutique.com/epages/es113722.sf/en_US/?ObjectPath=/Shops/es113722_shop/Products/%22Snow%20Queeen%27s%20Bouquet%22

7. What site do you use for selling your products on?

www.gemheaven.co.uk

www.gemheaven.etsy.com

www.wireboutique.com

www.gemheaven.blogspot.com

8. What type of jewellery do you make?

I call my jewellery ~ organic jewellery in silver with a hint of colour. Most of my ideas come from living in Cornwall ~ it’s a pretty organic place surrounded by the sea with a fabulous hint of mystery!

9. Do you belong to any online jewellery making groups or forums?

I am proud to be part of the Etsy Street Team Artisan Beaders ~  and there is a fabulous network on Flickr ~ a great gallery for showing off your latest work.

10. Which is your favourite jewellery making website/blog?

Eni Oken has a fabulous website for anyone interested in wire work ~ http://www.jewelrylessons.com/jewel/home

The artisan Beaders Street Team blog also give techniques on a Tuesday J

http://artisanbeaders.blogspot.com/

Entry filed under: Articles, interview. Tags: , .

All about Argentium sterling silver Find Beads.com

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Belinda Lee  |  May 18, 2009 at 7:52 am

    Jo does amazing work and I’m really happy to have been introduced to her and her work. Proud to be her friend. Well done Jo!

    Reply
  • 2. Ginger (msbelle)  |  May 20, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Jo is super!! Her creations never cease to amaze me. She has such a wonderful imagination and is so creative with her pieces. I love the materials she uses and her gems are fabulous! She’s an exceptional artist and wonderful friend!

    Reply
  • 3. jo  |  May 20, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Thank you so much 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory Handmadeartistsforum.com - Supporting Handmade Artists Join My Community at MyBloglog! Add to Technorati Favorites AddThis Social Bookmark Button Digg! < Grass Join BeadHuddle.com - The Web's Most Exciting Online Beading Community! Hobbies Blogs - Blog Rankings

Feeds


